17 Sep 2014

Interesting Fact

Cuba is officially called the Republic of Cuba. It consists of the main island, the Isla de la Juventud, and several smaller archipelagos. The region was a Spanish colony until after the Spanish American War in 1898. There was significant political instability since then, and Cuba has been ruled by the Communist Party since 1965.

Cuba has a population of 11.1 million, an area of 109,884 sq km, and a very high HDI of 0.815.

Cuba is the largest island in the Carribean. The US currently has a trade embargo again Cuba.

Published on 17 Sep 2014 Find me on Twitter!