03 Sep 2014

Interesting Fact

Suriname is officially called the Republic of Suriname. The region was previously colonized by the English and the Dutch, and was named Dutch Guinana until 1954. Suriname gained independence in 1975.

Suriname has a population of 566,000, an area of 163,821 sq km, and a medium HDI of 0.705.

Suriname is the smallest sovereign state in South America.

Published on 03 Sep 2014 Find me on Twitter!