20 Jun 2014

Interesting Fact

Cyprus is officially called the Republic of Cyprus. It was first settled by Mycenaean Greeks in 2000 BCE. The island was under the control over multiple empries over history, including the Roman, Byzantine, and Ottoman empires. Cyprus was then under British administration from 1878 to 1960, after which it gained independence. Its population is partially Greek and partially Turkish, and there is continuing conflict between these groups.

Cyprus has an area of 9,251 sq km, a population of 1.1 million, and a very high HDi of 0.848.

Zeno of Citium, the founder of Stoicism, is from Cyprus.

Published on 20 Jun 2014 Find me on Twitter!