24 May 2014

Interesting Fact

Macedonia is officially called the Republic of Macedonia, but referred to by the UN as the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), after a dispute with Greece over its name. It was previously a state of Yugoslavia. Before that, it was part of the Roman Empire and then the Ottoman Empire. It gained independence from Yugoslavia in 1991.

It has an area of 25,713 sq km, a population of 2 million, and a high HDI of 0.740.

Published on 24 May 2014 Find me on Twitter!