03 May 2014

Interesting Fact

The sovereign state of Micronesia is officially called the Federated States of Micronesia. Micronesia is also a geographical region encompassing the Federated States of Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, Palau, and other islands. The islands were first settled around 2000 BCE, and was conquered by several nations in history. After WWII, it was one of the US’ Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, and gained sovereignty in 1986. It is now in free association with the United States. It has an area of 702 sq km, a population of 106,000, and a medium HDI of 0.645.

Culture Regions

Published on 03 May 2014 Find me on Twitter!